Yes. All states and Canadian provinces require licensing for chiropractors. To be licensed, a chiropractor must:

  • earn a Doctor of Chiropractic (DC) degree from an accredited institution
  • pass a four-part national board examination.

Individual states have their own additional requirements and licensure limitations, and in most cases, a state board of chiropractic examiners oversees practitioners. Some states do not allow chiropractors to perform certain diagnostic tests in their offices. Some states allow chiropractors to offer additional therapies, such as homeopathy or acupuncture or the distribution of nutritional supplements, and some don't.

Most states require chiropractors to earn continuing education credits to maintain their licenses. This typically requires about 20-25 hours of continuing medical education each year in areas such as diagnostic imaging, professional boundaries, and clinical skills development.